New Media Art Award Finalists Announced

George Poonkhin Khut | Australia b. 1969 | Distillery: Waveforming (Portrait of Lian) 2012 | Still from video portraits of sitters interacting with heart rate controlled composition software for iPad | Photographer: Julia Pendrill Charles | Stylist: Troy Brennan | © Courtesy the artist

An upcoming exhibition at the Gallery is set to showcase the work of some of Australia’s top artists working in new media.

Seven individual artists and a collaborative duo have been shortlisted for the 2012 National New Media Art Award.

Finalists for the $75 000 biennial award are Kirsty Boyle (Qld); Karen Casey (Vic); Robin Fox (Vic); Petra Gemeinboeck and Rob Saunders (NSW); Ian Haig (Vic); Leah Heiss (Vic); Ross Manning (Qld); and George Poonkhin Khut (NSW).

This award program aims to celebrate the skill and creativity of Australian artists working across new media art forms. The winner of the award will be announced on Thursday, August 2, 2012, with the work of the shortlisted finalists be showcased in the ‘National New Media Art Award’ exhibition at GOMA from August 3 to November 4.

The exhibition showcases works that express challenging and innovative approaches to the use of media including robotics, artificial intelligence, interactive audio and visual installation, computer-based art, and other sound and communication technologies.

This year’s judging panel includes Suhanya Raffel, Deputy Director, Curatorial and Collection Development, QAGOMA; Amy Barrett Lennard, Director, Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts; and new media artist Daniel Crooks.

The inaugural winner of the Award in 2008 was Peter Alwast. The 2010 Award went to collaborating artists Isobel Knowles and Van Sowerwine.